Anneka Ever. Riverswept.

I love the following post by Anneka Ever. I’ve always considered writing to be a sort of refuge and as she so aptly says, it can be therapeutic.

I’m glad Anneka could share her thoughts here today and am thrilled to welcome her with a taste of her new romance, Riverswept.

********

“You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you.” ― Ray Bradbury, Zen in the Art of Writing

I love this quote from one of my favorite writers. Bradbury is infinitely quotable, but this one really hits home. I’ve found that the worst times in my life have been the most productive for creative endeavors.

I wrote the first draft of Riverswept during the months after my divorce. After I parted ways with my husband, I rented a decrepit old house as my temporary home base. Between the stress of the separation and my fear of things that go bump in the night (the house creaked its aches and pains as soon as it got dark), I developed a grand case of insomnia. To distract myself, I parked my fanny in front of the computer and wrote from dusk to desolate dawn.

I set that first draft aside and got on with my life. I met the man who would eventually become my new husband, got a great job, and enjoyed some of the happiest moments of my life. On occasion, I would pull the book manuscript from a drawer and tinker with it. Nothing worked. Back into the drawer it would go. This went on for seven years.

In April 2014, my mother passed away after a brief but terrible illness. As an only child who was extremely close to my mom, I was devastated. Yet, amidst my grief I found my muse. I pulled the manuscript out in July and completely rewrote it. To my surprise, it worked!

I believe Bradbury was on to something. Sometimes writing is therapeutic. Sometimes it’s a diversion. Sometimes the only way to survive our personal tragedies is to get drunk with words and create worlds into which we can escape.

HRriverswept

Blurb for Riverswept, a contemporary romance

Public relations professional Molly Duncan represents a coal-mining company responsible for one of the worst environmental disasters in U.S. history. Eager to get ahead at work, she will do almost anything to make her client look good. What she doesn’t count on is Finnley Moran.

Finn aims to shut down the company. Owner of an ecotourism business in rural Virginia, he makes his living showcasing the beauty of the Burns River and the endangered species that live in it. When the two adversaries come together, they are swept away in a flood of passion.

Excerpt from Riverswept, by Anneka Ever

She couldn’t resist dropping by his house. The garage door was closed. No cars were parked in front of the house. Looking over her shoulder, Molly didn’t see anyone watching, so she crept into his yard and up the steps of his porch. She peeked into the windows. The house seemed empty. He must still be on that kayak excursion.

Feeling like a stalker, she bounded down the steps and headed into downtown Burns. She would stroll through town toward the river and back around to her cottage. She took her time, worried that the lightheadedness would return.

By the time she reached the water’s edge, dusk blanketed it, softening its surface. Molly squinted at the river. The only illumination was that of fireflies peppering the air with unholy green light. Moving near the launch site, she caught sight of something pale. It was Finn’s white T-shirt glimmering as he put away equipment in the MoRE shed. Molly made her way to him.

He stood stretching and slapping away mosquitoes. When he saw her, he hefted a coil of rope under his arm and tossed it into the shed. He shut the door, locked it, and turned to greet her. “Hey, I was getting ready to call y—”

She interrupted him with a deep kiss. A pleasant, throbbing ache had set up inside her. He could make it go away. She ran her hands up beneath his ponytail and freed it from its band. She let the silky gold strands stream through her fingers like a pirate gloating over handfuls of doubloons. Smiling, she held his face between her hands and kissed him hard.

“Here,” she said. “Now.”

“Whatever you say,” he murmured. Pressing himself against her, he ran his tongue along her earlobe. A mantle of dew covered their shoulders as Finn led her away from the shed to the river. Beneath the branches of an old pine tree, he laid her down on a bed of fragrant needles.

Buy Links for Riverswept

Liquid Silver Books: http://www.lsbooks.com/riverswept-p1013.php

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1JOAoP9

Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/1DR7W6T

iTunes: http://apple.co/1IdkHii

Books-A-Million: http://bit.ly/1GYQJA1

Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/riverswept

All Romance eBooks: http://bit.ly/1IdkWtI

Author Biography

Anneka Ever is a romance author. Her contemporary love stories are set in the mountains and small towns of Virginia. Her strong heroes and independent heroines explore their passion against the beautiful backdrop of rivers, meadows, and forests.

An award-winning poet and short story writer, Anneka brings a fresh perspective to stories of dating and relationships.

She lives in far Southwestern Virginia with her husband and three dogs.

Anneka Ever on the Web

Website/Blog: www.annekaever.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AnnekaEver

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AnnekaEver

Google+: https://www.google.com/+AuthorAnnekaEver

Tumblr: http://anneka4ever.tumblr.com/

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/annekaeverroman/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/AnnekaEver

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Anneka Ever. Riverswept.

  1. This is a great post. Really resonated with me. I wrote my first book during a time of intense grief (a loooong time ago now) and I wrote through the nights when I couldn’t sleep!

    this is very inspiring. Thanks for sharing such a personal thing with us.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Enjoyed it very much Anneka. Those kinds of things tha happened can make a person to destructive things to themselves instead of making something good from it.

    Like

  3. So glad I read this post just as I’m starting Riverswept! It’s amazing how many of us turn to writing in the midst of grief. Love to all of you amazing people! Thank you for sharing your gift, Anneka.

    Like

Leave a Reply

