Sofia Grey. Isabella’s Airman.

Sofia Grey always brings us goodies, and I’m excited to say she’s not only brought us news of a hot new release, she’s doing a giveaway. So read on and please help me welcome Sofia!

In praise of the trailer

 

30219627_s

 

I’m one of those people that always arrive early to the movies, to make sure I get to see all the trailers. When we’re watching a movie on DVD at home, I stop hubby from fast-forwarding, so that I can watch them. Maybe it’s my bite-sized attention span, but I love the little snippets of the other films. Maybe it dates back to my years of watching MTV and soaking up one pop video after another. Some of those I’ve watched so often, they’re like old friends.

My favourite pop videos are the ones that tell a story, and like encapsulating a two-hour movie into under two minutes of film, it can’t be easy. It’s like book blurbs – the jacket copy on a printed version. You pick up a book in the library, scan the cover, read the blurb, and then – maybe – hang on to it.

Writing the blurb is an activity that makes me want to run screaming for the hills, but creating a trailer… that’s much more fun. I’ve been developing book trailers for a couple of years, and try to create one for each new release. I’ll spend hours searching for the exact snippet of video, and just as long listening to soundtracks for the perfect piece of music. After the intensity of writing and editing, playing around with video clips can be a great stress-buster.

This is the finished trailer for my new release – Isabella’s Airman (Out of Time #2): https://youtu.be/81eQC1WmBks

 

And here, in no particular order, are four of my all-time favourite pop videos:

 

Foo Fighters – Learn to Fly: https://youtu.be/1VQ_3sBZEm0

 

Maroon 5 – She Will Be Loved: https://youtu.be/nIjVuRTm-dc

 

Natalie Imbruglia – Torn: https://youtu.be/nbnEHXcK3oo

 

D B Boulevard – Point of View: https://youtu.be/dVWTS2AsaSk

 

Also, a special mention for the Assassins Creed Unity trailer. I love, LOVE this three-minute snippet of awesomeness. Even if you’re not a gamer, and have zero intention of ever playing it, do please watch the trailer for the perfect example of story-telling and music.  https://youtu.be/xzCEdSKMkdU

Giveaway

So tell me. What’s your favourite music video / film trailer? I’ll give away an ecopy of Lila’s Wolf (Out of Time #1) and some swag to one lucky commenter.

Isabellas_Airman-Sofia_Grey-500x800

Blurb:

 

Time travel student Isabella Gillman is about to embark on her most challenging assignment–leaping back to 1941 to observe World War II. The rules are simple: don’t get emotionally involved, and don’t interfere.

She breaks the first rule when she falls in love with rear-gunner Davy Porteous. The second is on its way out as well, when she realizes history says he won’t survive the war. Torn between the fundamental laws of her society, and the man she loves, Isabella faces a harsh reality: does she risk both their lives for a future that may not happen?

She can’t predict the results if she corrupts the timelines, but without her actions, Davy is out of time.

 

Book links:  Amazon | Goodreads

 

Author links:  www.SofiaGrey.com

 

Goodreads | Facebook | Pinterest | Twitter | Amazon

Sofia Grey

Author bio:

Romance author Sofia Grey spends her days managing projects in the corporate world and her nights hanging out with wolf shifters and alpha males. She devours pretty much anything in the fiction line, but she prefers her romances to be hot, and her heroes to have hidden depths. When writing, she enjoys peeling back the layers to expose her characters’ flaws and always makes them work hard for their happy endings.

Music is interwoven so tightly into my writing that I can’t untangle the two. Either I’m listening to a playlist on my iPod, have music seeping from my laptop speakers, or there’s a song playing in my head – sometimes on auto-repeat.

 

Check out my playlists on Pinterest

8 thoughts on “Sofia Grey. Isabella’s Airman.

  1. You took me back to MTV and Steve Perry’s Oh Sherrie came to mind! Loved that one, thanks for the flashback.

    Like you, I also love, “She Will Be Loved” a lot with Kelly Preston in it.

    I adore Chuck Wicks and this one, Hold That Thought:

    Thanks for the chance to win your book and have a great Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

