The importance of shaking things up.

As my husband and I enter our twentieth year of marriage (yes, I was a child bride), we’ve noticed we both feel a great need to shake up our routines. It’s so easy to get caught in a rut, especially as we become older and set in our ways.

I will admit, of the two of us, my husband Doug is better at mixing things up. He’s constantly looking for a new road to drive or a new hobby to enjoy. He recently purchased himself a Kitchen-Aid mixer and has been having a blast cooking new recipes for the family.

I, on the other hand, have grown more comfortable with my routine and I know Doug sometimes shakes his head at me. However, being a writer, I find I’m quite cozy within my four walls, dreaming up adventures for other people.

But has this been at the expense of my own adventures?

Despite my contentment in my rut, I do recognize the need to get up, stretch my legs and see something I haven’t seen before. In fact, if I linger, glued to my routine, for too long, my body reacts. I grow restless. My legs hurt. I need to flex everything that makes me vital.

I’ll share something I witnessed in my husband recently when he tried making pasta for the first time. We had a friend over for drinks and christened his pasta maker and ended up with an amazing meal. Doug’s eyes lit up and he said it was one of the best nights he’s had in a long time because it was different and it taught him new skills. I loved seeing him so excited. It made me want to experience some of that enthusiasm for myself.

This doesn’t mean I’ll be enrolling myself in skydiving classes any time soon. God, no. Nevertheless, I do fantasize about broadening my horizons. In fact, I’ve been toying with the idea of signing up for percussion lessons. Yeah, you heard me. I’ve always wanted to play drums. Wouldn’t that be a blast? Β Just think of the plot bunnies it could inspire.

drums

I wonder if other writers get caught in ruts as well. Do you make the effort to try new activities and meet new people, or do you hide in your shell as I sometimes do? Do you seek out challenges and when you do, does your new activity make it into a book?

Sometimes we really do have to force ourselves to live in the world. A little adventure never hurt anyone. And sometimes I just want to sit down in my comfy place and enjoy Doug’s pasta.

 

15 thoughts on “The importance of shaking things up.

  1. Reblogged this on Amy Quinton and commented:
    Great writer; great post. I definitely find it easy to get stuck in a rut. Routine is comforting. But I often dream of being a different me. I get bored easily. And I do feel invigorated when I step out of my comfort zone. Check out Rosanna’s thoughts on shaking things up a bit…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Routine is comforting. But I often dream of being a different me. I get bored easily. And I do feel invigorated when I step out of my comfort zone. It’s definitely not easy to push yourself out of that rut… to much to do. lol. Great post, thanks for sharing, Rosanna!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, this post is exactly where I am right now! It’s easy to get stuck in a rut if it’s comfortable, but adventure is so good for energy, happiness, and creativity. Thank you for reminding me of that! I need an adventure, and soon! I hope you do take drum lessons. I did for about five years and it was great fun! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you, Jess! We all need a little adventure here and there. You took drums!! Awesome. I did voice and piano but never drums and I long to unleash my inner Alex Van Halen. LOL

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Soren would approve of you learning the drums πŸ˜‰ Maybe you can even conjure him up to give you lessons πŸ˜‰

    I’m the first to admit I’m a creature of habit and I like my ruts πŸ˜‰ Intellectually I see the benefit of trying new things but…. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol, Michelle! That’s actually how Soren came about. I love those drummers! But until those lessons happen, the grooves in my couch are nice and warm. πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I was pondering similar things in my life (as I’m now getting older) the other day. I’m very introverted and the thought of putting myself into a new adventure scares the living crap out of me. Always has. Why is there always so many other people around? Lol.

    I like my routines and habits, they’re comforting and safe, but at the same time, I sometimes wish I were more of an extrovert so I would feel more comfortable doing things.

    Good post, Little Drummer Girl! xoxo

    Like

    • Thank you, Casey. There is comfort in the familiar, that’s for sure. I’ve started telling myself, when doing something new, to do it for the future books. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Enjoyed this. I think any long term marriage needs to be kept fresh. I think getting out of your rut who just enhance your writing and a marriage healthy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

