Use it before you lose it.

I had the most interesting session with my physiotherapist this morning. I’ve always fancied myself limber. I’m not an athlete by any stretch of the imagination and never have been but I’ve had moments of earnest exercise in my life. Moments, mind you.

However, this morning my physiotherapist stretched out one of my legs today, taking it in a direction I never thought it could travel, and I almost saw God. It burned. If I possessed a little less propriety, I probably would have turned the air above my exam table blue.

Once I got over the imagined indignity of being spread wider than a broken wishbone at Thanksgiving, I began to wonder if perhaps it was a stretch I needed. After all, although I do try to take the stairs and watch what I eat, I’m probably not as fit as I should be. In some ways I’m lucky because my day job keeps me on my feet and moving, but I know I can do more to improve my level of fitness.

I tend to neglect exercise because I tell myself I should be writing instead. I think most writers probably use this excuse (please tell me so) and then we end up with what used to be called “Secretary’s Spread.” I prefer to think of it as Lazy Writer Ass. Today it occurred to me exercise and writing really should go hand in hand.

After all, if you don’t use it, you lose it. Isn’t this what we’ve been told?

Certainly I have found if I take a long break from writing, it can be difficult to find inspiration to pick up the pen again. I work better when I work consistently. It turns out my body operates the same way. If I neglect the old girl, she feels older and exhausted. I don’t want to be exhausted. I want to be vibrant and healthy and I want my writing to sound the same way.

Today, as my physiotherapist twisted me into a pretzel, I made a vow to move. Perhaps it’s not such a sin to take half an hour away from my writing and dedicate some time to improving my quality of life. My brain will likely function better too. Double win, right?

I issue a challenge to all my fellow writers out there, and also to those who’ve been searching for a reason to get up and go. Feeling less than fit? Move with me! It doesn’t matter how, as long as we do it.

If we use it, we won’t lose it. So let’s use it together.

10 thoughts on “Use it before you lose it.

  1. I used to use that excuse myself, “I should be writing”. Used to.

    I had a health scare a few years ago, and although it had nothing to do with exercise, or lack of, it still scared the hell out of me.

    I’m not an athlete either, but I worked out a lot, but slowly I started to neglect doing so.

    Now that I’m feeling so much better I’ve started going for daily walks. I’m along a 5k at the end of May and I’m training for a 5k run that will take place in October.

    Yes, working out and training cuts into writing time, but I can’t tell you how much more energy I have, how positive I feel (mostly), and the creative boost is wonderful.

    I love a good challenge, so I accept yours. It will keep me in check. 🙂

    Like

    • Good for you, Casey! I’m glad you embarked on a healthier lifestyle and I’m relieved to hear your scare was just a scare. We will have to check in with each other and keep each other pumped!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. We won’t go into how overweight I am and how little I move. Suffice it to say that between work and home I spend probably 95% of my day or more sitting on my ass. At my last job I did go for 15 minute walks twice a day with one of my co-workers, but such isn’t really possible at my current job. I keep thinking about doing more, and have made a few half-hearted gestures in that direction, but…well. Yeah.

    Several people at work have recently gotten balance ball chairs to use there, and I’ve decided I’m going to try one as well. One of the ladies there has an extra one she doesn’t need and is going to sell to me cheap, so I’m going to try it. If I like it there, I may well get myself one for at home as well. It may not be the same as getting up and moving like I probably should, but hopefully it will at least do a bit for helping take strain off my back and bum and possibly help with the abdomen a bit as well. We’ll see.

    Like

    • Good for you for trying the ball chair, Michelle. I know how hard it is to get motivated. Certain times during my life have been more challenging than others and I’ve seen my weight reflect it. For me right now, I just want to move, no matter what form it takes. I don’t want to run marathons. Heck, people drop dead during marathons and they look healthy! I think anything that takes us away from the laptop and the chair has to be good.

      Like

  3. Hi Rosanna! I had a bad back episode on 4-10 and couldn’t move and realized how much I wanted to. My chiropractor gave me four stretches that I do faithfully and with just eating very little bit througout the day I’ve lost ten pounds. Would like to lose another twenty. I’m with you! Motion begets motion.

    Like

    • Good for you, Joni!! You’re an inspiration. You’re right, we need to move. Life certainly moves on without us so we need to keep up, in all things. I hope all is well in your corner and that you’ve been having some quality family time. Hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

