Rolling with the social media punches.

Have you noticed how much Facebook has changed since a year or two ago? I remember a time when I would post a comment or a photo and I’d receive a veritable flood of comments and likes. Bear in mind, this is me, not Danielle Steel. Sure, I have some followers, but not millions. And yet I still saw lots of action on my pages.

Nowadays, I post something and if I’m lucky, the proverbial tumbleweed rolls past. Some days, I want to tap my mike and say, “Is this thing on?” In fact, as I publish this post, I am aware of the fact very few people will ultimately see the post on Facebook.

As most of us probably know by now, Facebook has changed its policies and visibility of posts. I get it. They want us to pay to promote our posts. I haven’t done this yet. Call me tight, but I don’t see a need to shell out hard-earned cash to promote my books in this way right now. Maybe that will change. I figure if someone wants to buy my books, they will know where to find them.

I can’t help feeling this might also be a measure to stop rampant promotion. After all, people don’t want to see buy link after buy link. They want to be engaged and to feel as if others are interested in their news as well. I notice that my most popular posts are simple status updates. As soon as I add a picture or a link, the visibility goes down. So what is a writer to do? Resort to updates about what my cat did that morning? No. I want to engage people and promote reading, not just of my books, but others too. I want to share in the love of literature and I would assume anyone who is friends with me wants to do the same.

I’ve dropped out of many of the social media groups I joined as a newbie writer for the same reason. There’s no sense (in my mind anyway) in posting hundreds of links, only to have no one see them. So, again, I seek to engage and have restricted myself to only a select number of groups that interest me.

At the end of the day, as much as we complain about the costs of Facebook and the changes in social media, we probably won’t change them, not while someone is paying those prices. I understand a lot of writers are only too pleased to pay for Facebook ads. More power to you. We do what we have to do. I hope they sell books.

As for me, I would just like to feel connected again. I’ve missed the connection. I never wanted to talk my readers to death. I wanted to hear about their lives as well, and I don’t feel I’m getting that right now. I suppose we’ll just have to roll with the social media punches.

It’s just too bad they don’t always feel “social.”

11 thoughts on “Rolling with the social media punches.

  1. I enjoy that you are one of the few writer I follow that I can actually have chat with. I love your books and just lt me know from your page when they are coming and I will get them ordered. You have given me a good laugh many times with your sons antics and I felt the grief you had for a lost loved one also. Enjoy your wall.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with a lot of what you said, Rosanna.
    It used to be I had more engagement on my author page on FB then on my personal profile, but it seems to be the opposite now. That’s assuming I get any engagement at all.
    Since I’m not as prolific a writer as many are, I find it necessary, and I like doing this, is letting others see I’m a human being and not some author robot so I post and share the things I find interesting hoping my followers will to.
    I think you do a really good job of mixing in your book news with other posts. I would never call you a Buy My Book Link Crazy Posting Lady. lol. You know what I mean.

    Like

    • So glad I’m not that lady, Casey! LOL And when I do post teasers, I try to share some of the thought behind the book, interesting tidbits, etc. And sometimes it’s just about book links. Let’s be honest. But no matter what we post, let’s hope we manage the changes as we have. I think you post a lot of cool stuff too.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What a great post! I couldn’t have put it better myself. This is exactly the reason why I limit myself mostly to Twitter, some Google + ,and of course WordPress. Doesn’t help me to invest time in something that refuses to give back. In short, I prefer the “social” rather than trying to make the sale.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much, Dave! I appreciate the feedback and the chance to be “social” with you. 😉 This business is so much more rewarding when we’re not focused on constantly selling. The connections are just as important, if not more.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

