Good bye, Gemini Island. An author completes her series.

I knew the day would come.

I’d planned for it. I’d confronted the worries. I continued writing.

What I didn’t anticipate was the mix of emotions I would feel the day I wrote “The End” for Predator’s Salvation, the eighth and final book in the series. What did I feel? Mostly I felt good. After all, this series saw me through eight unique romances, eight sets of main characters, several villains and a setting that claimed my heart from day one.

I’m proud of this series and I’m happy to let it live on in our imaginations after the last book. I never wanted to drag it out. I never wanted it to grow stale. I shed a lot of tears writing the last book but they were such good tears, cathartic tears.

gi-shifters

At the same time, a day or two after completing it, I am now at loose ends. I feel a need to cling to these characters a bit longer, to linger on Gemini Island and breathe in the fresh air. Okay, maybe to breathe in a couple of my heroes as well. They smell good.

But no, it is time to put them all to bed. There is nothing more to explore and as a writer, I want very much to develop and grow and that means taking on new projects.

The Gemini Island Shifters series began a few years ago as a short story, one that just didn’t work. After revamping it, the Snow brothers (Ryland and Soren) sprang to life and took charge. “We want our own books,” they demanded. “And some delightful heroines.” (Okay, Ry and Soren wouldn’t have said that the same way but you get the picture.)

Who was I to deny them?

Readers seemed to notice the series as it began. Predator’s Kiss is still my best selling book. One day, it even beat out a huge author for sales on the iTunes list and it did well at all other outlets. I was tickled.

More stories and characters presented themselves.Β And then one day, as I wrote book 5, Predator’s Fire, a new villain crept out of the darkness. August Crane was borne and he attempted to destroy my peaceful shape shifters. His story arc took us through another three books. Even death did not stop him. An unlikely heroine, “petulant wolf shifter” Fleur Bissette did.

As my characters now deal with the aftermath, they must also deal with the inevitable grief and pain. The light of hope has shone once again for them. The lodge is being restored after an attack by Crane’s Alpha Brethren. However, no character has emerged unscathed. The scars of this battle remain and the wounds cut deep.

It was important to me to close the series on a high note and a happy note. After so much conflict, I have scaled back on the tension for Predator’s Salvation. Nonetheless, you will still get to meet another villain. Very soon, I will introduce you to Royal Hill. Beware of him. He has no remorse and is set on capturing Elaine Gleason, my final heroine. I don’t want to say too much about Royal yet but I will throw one tiny bone at you:

Taxidermy. Mull that one over. πŸ˜‰

It was also important for me to give Elaine a happy ending and a life-affirming new love with mountain lion shifter Connor Church. Can these good friends overcome their guilt and grief and find passion with each other? We will see.

Will I ever revisit this series? I can’t say for sure. The idea of a Christmas novella appeals to me but I’d like to know what readers think. Would you read it? If I did plan another trip to the Ursa Fishing Lodge and Resort, what would you want to see?

Thank you to all the readers who took a chance on this series and to everyone who embraced it. It has brought me so much pleasure and I’m thrilled so many of you enjoyed it as well. Please stay tuned for release dates and cover reveals and perhaps a couple of special giveaways in coming months.

All my love,

Rosanna

12 thoughts on “Good bye, Gemini Island. An author completes her series.

  1. WOW! You really know how to make one think about that word don’t you. As for a Christmas one. Yes, I would love to read one. It would be great to see all the group together again. I would definitely read it! It is sad to see them go their own ways though……

    Like

    • Thanks, Mary! LOL, yes, that word brought up all kinds of images for me too. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for your input on a Xmas book. I will definitely give it some thought. Thanks so much for reading the series and sharing your thoughts.

      Like

    • Thank you, Fran! I will definitely give the Xmas idea some more thought. I kind of like it too. I appreciate you reading the books and always sharing the love. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Congrats on a wonderful series Rosanna , I have enjoyed getting to know this island and all your characters. A Christmas story would be wonderful .

    Like

  3. You write it, I read it. Simple. (I know I’m behind right now but I will get there…)

    So yeah anytime you wanna take a trip to the island I’m game! πŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

