Rosanna’s recommended reads, December 2016.

It’s been some time since I’ve been able to tell you about some of my favorite reads and thought it was a good way to close 2016 on my blog.

My reading included several romance books but I also ventured down darker paths the past few months. Although there were elements of romance in some of these books, not all had happy endings but I was aware of that going in.

Happy or sad, they moved me and I’m confident recommending them to you.

The Shadow by Sylvain Reynard

the-shadow

I love, love, love, Reynard’s vampires and adore the Italian setting. Most of you have probably already read this series but I’m late to it. Book 1 and book 2 both swept me away and I can’t wait for book 3 this coming year!

Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

ugly-love

Ugly Love was my stand out read of the year. Of. The Year.

‘Nuff said.

Arranged by Catherine McKenzie

arranged

Here’s where we get into different territory. Arranged had an interesting premise and from the description, I wasn’t sure I’d get a happy ending. There are twists and heartaches and I would never call this a traditional romance. That being said, my romantic heart was appeased.

Hausfrau by Jill Alexander Essbaum

ar-aj096_hausfr_dv_20150311132450

Darker, still, my lovelies!

I won’t mince words about this one. Hausfrau is NOT a romance. It’s about infidelity and loneliness and a woman who seems pleased to justify her foolish actions. I would certain it would all end in tears and I don’t want to spoil it for anyone but it’s safe to say there is a healthy dose of tragedy in this book. However, sometimes we need a bit of tragedy in our literary lives. Sometimes I read works of pain to remind me why I appreciate romance so much. The author does an admirable job of allowing the plot to unravel and there was much beauty in this pain.

Happy New Year and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

