A publisher closes. An author reconsiders.

Yesterday, on my way to do an author reading at my local library, I received the news that one of my publishers is closing. They had struggled previously but had reorganized and were still putting out great books every week. I had faith in them. Sadly, faith isn’t always enough.

This is a tough business and my heart goes out to those who work directly for this publisher because they have always treated me well and have always paid out on time. It’s a sad day when a business has to close, especially one that supported authors.

I have one book with this publisher, Vice. It’s dear to my heart because it deals with the struggle my family had with the issue of compulsive gambling.

Vice_EPUB

I will now have to find a new home for it. In addition, I recently had my new Handymen series accepted at this house. It will need a new home, too.

So where do I find this home?

Do I submit to a small house, knowing they could close in the future? Do I bite the bullet and self-publish (the idea terrifies me)? Do I throw my manuscripts at bigger houses (again) and wait (for a long time) for rejections or an acceptance?

I’m truly stymied. I hate the idea that Vice is going to cease to exist, at least as it is now. I don’t think I’ve ever written a book that has tugged at my heart in the same way. I want it to live. I want some other reader who is struggling with an addicted family member to read it and feel hope.

I have some big decisions to make and I feel unready to make them. I hope the coming weeks will provide clarity and that my path will become clear.

In the meantime, for those of you who would like to support this book while you can, please visit the Samhain Publishing site where it is currently 1/2 off. You will only find the sale there. Thank you for continuing to follow my writing.

Buy link for Vice

 

One thought on “A publisher closes. An author reconsiders.

  1. Thanks for this, Lizbeth, and for the hugs. This is definitely a time for me to consider things I haven’t before. Agents, self-pubbing, whatever else. Right now, it’s all very overwhelming but I know, in the grand scheme of things, I could have it much worse. It ‘ll all get sorted eventually. Thank you for your thoughts. I will absolutely take them to heart.

    Like

Leave a Reply

