Reading, renovations and reversion of rights, or writing amidst the madness.

This week is a weird one. Actually, this entire month is going to be a challenge for me as far as getting any writing done. To be honest, I think I may have to write the entire month off. If I manage any writing at all, it’ll be a miracle. I have my doubts as to what I’ve written so far anyway.

Simply put, my mind is elsewhere.

For one thing, my house is in shambles. Well, the nerve center anyway. Yep, you guessed it, the kitchen. For the first time ever, my family and I are going through a kitchen renovation. The room is gutted. Cupboards, floors, electrical, it’s all being replaced. Some people thrive on decorating. Not me. I’m terrified I’ll make bad decisions. Luckily, I have the best contractor in the world on my side. If you ever need a guy, boy, I have a guy for you. Call Joe. he’s awesome.

On top of that, I’ve been asked to judge a few entries in a local romance writing contest. I was tickled to be included, and especially as a judge. I had no idea how much work would be involved. I’m thrilled to be able to offer my feedback to budding writers but I want to do them justice. The reading involved is extensive and the notes even more so. It’s hard to write my own stories when I have several others occupying my mind, but it’s okay. It’s worth it. I’m happy for the opportunity to give back.

At the same time, I’ve been asked to take part in a series of training sessions at my day job. Again, I’m honored to be asked and I’m already comfortable with the material but it’s one more thing to think about and requires preparation.  My schedule at this job has also changed and I’ve had to start adapting…and quickly.

And then, as my readers will know, I have been waiting on the reversion of rights letter for Vice, my contemporary romance. This publisher has closed and it has brought up all sorts of emotions for me and so many others. I have had to make a lot of decisions about where I want to go with my writing and it hasn’t been easy. In some ways, I feel as if I am starting from scratch again, even though I know that’s not the case.

Over the past week, I’ve watched Vice disappear from all the vendor sites.  It’s a surreal experience, seeing your work just vanish like that. I know I’ll find a new home for it but it does give one pause. I’m just so thankful I have some remaining print copies in my possession. There’s no sense dwelling on it or indulging the temptation to linger in the old “pit of despair.” I can’t allow that. I have to keep moving forward. Besides, I’m under no illusion I have it bad. Others have it worse. These things happen. It’s sad but it, in no way, defines anyone involved. And frankly, who has time for the pit of despair?

My writing has had to take a back seat to all this. Sometimes it’s hard to be creative when life is sucking the energy out of you. And that’s okay. That’s how it goes. We move on. We adapt.

And if we can’t write about it in the moment, you can bet we’re taking notes for next time.

 

8 thoughts on “Reading, renovations and reversion of rights, or writing amidst the madness.

  1. Hugs. So much at once. And yes, it’s lovely to have print copies. I have print from all but one of my travesties and it takes away that ephemeral-surreal quality of my writing’s existence. Nice to have a tangible.

    Like

  2. Take a deep breath and just do what you can when you can. Don’t beat yourself up if there’s no time to write, use the days to recharge your idea bank 🙂

    Like

  3. This is definitely a time of transition for you Rosanna. You will be fine and look back on this phase and see that it was just the end of the old and the beginning of new, better things in your life. Remember that you do all of your growing through difficult times, not so much the good times. Great things are ahead of you including a beautiful kitchen!

    Like

  4. So sorry you are having all that happening at once. Just think though you will have a beautiful kitchen and will have helped some new authors and you have a faithful readers who will be waiting for your next book.

    Like

    • Thank you, Fran! It’s all good. Not much writing but I’ll get back to it. Thanks so much for your support of my blog!

      Like

Leave a Reply

