My first romance convention, or “Rosanna geeks out.”

It’s under my belt now. I have attended my first romance convention…and somehow didn’t fall flat on my face…much.

This past weekend, I attended Romancing the Falls 2017 as a signing author. I’d like to offer a huge thank you to author and organizer Freya Barker, who made everyone feel welcome and who had each detail planned so well.

I haven’t been to this sort of thing before and had no idea what to expect. Luckily, I got to share a table with the lovely Crystal St. Clair, who is a pro at these things. She and her pal Christine helped me feel right at home.

Let me start with the readers. Oh, my God, the readers. They were fantastic! As a relative newbie to the con scene, I was able to just take a step back when the event started and witness the insanity. I could see reader wheels turning as they ran toward their favorite authors’ tables. They raced around the large banquet room, collecting their preorders, getting us all to sign books and swag.

Can I just say how pleased I was when a reader arrived at my table, with a page in her scrapbook dedicated to me? I almost died. I’m not kidding. I almost fell out of my chair in gratitude. There were a lot of hugs given out that day.

Did everyone know me and my work? Nah. However, being in that position forced me to thrust myself out of my comfort zone. I smiled and introduced myself to everyone I could. Sold some books, too.

My banner got a lot of attention. That made me happy. Of course, it has a huge picture of Edan the selkie on it, so Β no wonder. Β Isn’t he pretty? I think he got more attention than I did and rightly so. Β πŸ˜‰ Thanks, Edan!

Come dinner time, I approached a table full of smiling ladies. They welcomed me into their group and I made some new friends. I will forever remember their kindness and interest in my work. They said they were happy to have an author at their dinner table but I was so honoured to sit with them.

My verdict? It was a wonderful event and I know I’ve made new friendships that will last.

As an author, did I feel it advanced my career? I believe so. We can’t afford to dismiss the importance of face-to-face connections. Nowadays, we don’t get them very much. Sure, we can connect with a million people online but there is something special that happens when you have the chance to shake someone’s hands and look into their eyes. Simply put, it’s magical, especially when we’re talking about books with fellow book lovers.

And as I’ve always said, romance fans are special. They are warm and enthusiastic and open-minded. They embrace new authors and celebrate the ones they’ve loved for years. I’m so pleased I had the chance to experience Romancing the Falls 2017. I was able to play fangirl and it was an utter delight to speak to so many other fangirls as well.

I look forward to being part of this event in coming years and do hope I’ll be invited back.

11 thoughts on “My first romance convention, or “Rosanna geeks out.”

    • It was great seeing you and Shirley, as well, Sharon! I appreciate you both coming and hope you had fun. I’m so glad you came by. Hugs!

      Like

Leave a Reply

