Onward and upward. #UpbeatAuthors.

If you follow my blog, you’ll know I recently had to take a break from social media and all the “noise” out there. It wasn’t long. A few noise-free days did the trick. And you know what? I didn’t miss being tied to my phone. I logged in here and there, of course, but cut down on the endless scrolling. I can honestly say I feel better now, refreshed.

Reducing one’s time on social media doesn’t cure every ill. I do recognize this but it’s amazing how removing one little thing from my list of things to do cleared my head.

From now on, I’ll be concentrating my energies on the positive, on making little changes to my life and my writing and my approach. It starts today.

Following the lead of #UpbeatAuthors, today I’ll be talking about one simple way to improve our health. Now, I’m not a doctor but I think most of us know what’s good for us and what’s bad for us. We all know when we’re “cheating” with our health.

If I could make one change for myself, it would be the following: MOVE.

I spend so much time at the computer or at my work desktop. When I get home, I sit. I know I don’t move enough. In fact, I think I’ve blogged about that too. It doesn’t have to be a game of football (to be frank, I never quite figured out how that game works anyway and I’m just not interested in sports.) For me, the key has always been getting up off my bum.

Personally, I love to walk and hike. Not only does it move my limbs, it clears my head. I could use a lot of that right now. With so much going on at home and at work, “head clearing” is just as important to my personal health as moving.

So won’t you move with me today? It doesn’t have to be far, it doesn’t have to be long but it should take you in a new direction. Let’s stretch. Let’s breathe. Let’s get going.

Onward and upward.

4 thoughts on “Onward and upward. #UpbeatAuthors.

  1. I’m going FB free this week and already feel better. For the past two weeks I’ve been using a phone app called Productive. It helps set up healthy daily habits and routines, something very positive for me. I’ve also been listening to a fascinating audiobook on habits. Very helpful and enlightening. Onward! 🙂

    Like

  2. Good idea. About the walk and about taking a break from social media. I spend way too much time on Facebook and way too much time sitting behind a desk. Hope you have a good day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

