The Great HEA Event with @RhodaBaxter! #GreatHEAEvent

Author Rhoda Baxter is here today, and she hits on one of the most important aspects of HEA (in my opinion.) The idea that it is a promise. Read on!

***

Why an HEA is important to me.

Genre is a promise. The promise made in romance novels is that there will be a happy ending. If not Happy Ever After, at least a Happy For Now. Because of this promise, I will happily go through all manner of highs and lows with a character. I can laugh and gasp and cry into my hot chocolate, without being harmed … Because everything will be okay in the end

In the past year, where covid wiped out all other certainties, I needed HEAs more than ever. Everything was not okay in real life and I had very little capacity for taking on further trauma, even in fictional form. My reading habit all but died. The only books I could read were the ones that had a happy ending, so that I could get that tiny endorphin hit at the end … when everything turns out to be okay.

So HEAs, for me, have been glimmers of light in a dark year. Moments of happiness and warmth that let me forget the tension of real life. I love them.

Girl On The Run by Rhoda Baxter

“A great heroine, a swoonworthy hero and a properly nasty villain.” Jenni Fletcher

After a humiliating split from her celebrity ex, Jane is hiding from the spotlight. She’s moved city, moved jobs and changed her hair. She wants to disappear and finish her training as a patent attorney.

Marshall has worked hard for years and nomination to the partnership is tantalisingly close. He must avoid scandal at any cost.

When they meet, their attraction is impossible to ignore. Neither wants a fuss, but with the paparazzi following Jane and an office trouble maker determined to sabotage their relationship, they can’t escape unscathed.

Girl on the Run is the first in a series of standalone contemporary romances. Ideal for fans of Mhairi McFarlane or Sue Moorcroft.

Buy it here!

Rhoda Baxter writes books about people who make her laugh. A microbiologist by training, Rhoda loves all things science geeky. She also loves cake, crochet and playing with Lego. You can find out more about her (and get a free book by signing up to her newsletter) on her website.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.